New CIAM Award Honors Ten Americans

The Fédération Aéronautique Internationale (FAI) recently announced a new award, the CIAM Legends Medal to honor pilots who have won the title of FAI World Champion in any aeromodeling or spacemodeling competition three times. 


 Ten Americans will be honored October 26-27, 2023, at the FAI General Conference’s opening ceremony in Dayton, Ohio. The Americans are: Robert Biedron, Steve Brown, Chris Flanigan, Les McDonald, Daryl Perkins, James Richmond, David Shadel, William Werwage, Curtis Youngblood, and Jim Shinohara (deceased). 

We want to extend our congratulations to these extraordinary individuals who have soared to a new level in international aeromodeling competition. The Legends medal represents the years of effort to demonstrate that an individual with patience, determination and top flying skills can achieve one of aeromodeling’s highest honors. 

Photos from the CIAM Event / October 26-27, 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *