AMA Model Aviation Hall of Fame 2018 Class

Induction into the AMA Model Aviation Hall of Fame is one of the most prestigious honors that an AMA member can receive. AMA is pleased to announce the 2018 inductees: Tim Dannels, Robert Dodgson, Mark Freeland, Robert Kopski, and the late Cliff Telford.

Established in 1969 to recognize those who have made significant contributions to aeromodeling, hall of fame recipients are chosen by a committee. The nominees are evaluated on their efforts to boost the sport of model aviation through volunteering, competing, developing products, and/or performing administrative duties.

In addition to receiving a plaque and a patch, living hall of fame inductees are given an AMA Life membership.

Tim was nominated for the honor by Bill Mohrbacher, Model Engine Collectors Association president, for his 55 years of continuous service to the model aviation community. Tim is one of the founders of the Society of Antique Modelers club and has edited and published books and a journal about model engines.

Tim Dannels accepts his plaque.

Robert Dodgson, a model sailplane pilot, was nominated by Peter Becker for his many contributions to the sport. These include designing and manufacturing model sailplane kits, competing in Thermal Duration contests, and publishing newsletters about Soaring.

Inductee Robert Dodgson. Robert was presented with his award during the Inaugural AMA District XI NW Jamboree. Pictured with him is Peter Becker who nominated him for this honor.

A Free Flight (FF) pilot and competitor, Mark Freeland founded his company, Retro RC, in 2008. In addition to designing and manufacturing products for the FF community, Mark has created kits that help teach youth about the importance of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. Mark was nominated by Joe Hass.

(L-R) AMA Model Aviation Hall of Fame Inductees Pete Waters, Keith Shaw, Ken Myers, Bob Bienenstein, Mark Freeland, and Mark’s wife, Barb.

Considered one of the pioneers and leaders of electric-powered model aircraft flight, Robert Kopski has shared his equipment and passion with countless modelers. He was nominated by Bruce Fenstermacher for his “continuous dedication in a span of over 30 years—gaining knowledge through meticulously documented experimentation … and sharing that knowledge with thousands of fellow modelers.”

Inductee Robert Kopski.

Cliff Telford, who passed away in 2005, has an AMA scholarship in his and his wife’s name that was established by many of his RC Pylon Racing friends. During his lifetime, Cliff served as a contest director for many RC Pylon contests and as an event director at several AMA Nats. He helped establish the Quickie 500 RC Pylon Racing contest that is fl own at the Nats. Cliff was nominated by his son, Drew.

Inductee Cliff Telford with his wife, Nancy.

Read more about the 2018 class, and past inductees, at

One comment

  1. my husband and I knew Robert and Sandy Dodgson when they were students together at the University of Washington. I would very much like to have contact information for them, if possible, as we have lost touch over the years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *