2017 AMA Scholarship Winners Announced


Academy of Model Aeronautics Awards Scholarships

Eleven students from across the country chosen to receive $48,000 in AMA scholarships


MUNCIE, IN—The AMA is happy to announce that $48,000 in scholarships will be awarded this year to 11 high school graduates from across the nation. The scholarships are created through funds donated by model aviation organizations and individuals, AMA members, and a portion of AMA member dues.

Scholarship criteria are set by the AMA Scholarship Committee, which is made up of model aviation pilots and enthusiasts. The committee evaluates each applicant and ranks him or her based on GPA, community involvement, model flying experience, and participation in aeromodeling competitions.

AMA and the AMA Foundation wish to thank each family that has contributed to the memorial scholarships, as well as the hundreds of other donors to the scholarship program. Without their generous contributions, these scholarships would not be possible.

AMA congratulates the following students who have been selected this year to receive the Charles Hampson Grant Scholarship and others:

1) Dillon Graves—Charles Hampson Grant Scholarship ($7,000), Clifford and Nancy Telford Scholarship ($5,000), Toledo Weak Signals Club award ($1,000), and the Ryan M. Sherrow Memorial Scholarship ($500) = $13,500

2) Hunter Herbert—Charles Hampson Grant Scholarship ($6,000) and Toledo Weak Signals Club award ($500) = $6,500

3) Andrew Sites—Charles Hampson Grant Scholarship ($5,500) and Toledo Weak Signals Club award ($500) = $6,000

4) Spencer Weigand—$5,000

5) Nicholas Garrett—$4,500

6) Ryan Barry—$4,000

7) Troy Davis—$3,000

8) Thomas Emanuel—$2,000

9) Noah Meyers—$1,500

10) Andrew Bedsole—$1,500

11) Michael Belanger—$500 Basil and Dorothy Cooper Memorial Scholarship


  1. Well done to all!

    Now how many notice who is conspicuously absent from this list of fine young people? Time to be aware to also encourage the next Amelia Earhart, Patty Wagstaff, Svetlana Kapanina, so many others, including engineers and all other aviation related fields. But that does not detract at all from this years winners. Again… well done!

  2. Hello ,
    I would like to thank you for the opportunity to win this scholarship. Although I did not win I still would like to thank the committee and the AMA.
    Please consider me for the next year scholarship.
    Thank you,
    Colton lubbe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *